This week we’re at Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio for the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.  It’s a safe bet that Akron’s once favorite son won’t be bringing his talents back home to take in the action this weekend.  If you keep your eyes peeled, you may spy a Tuna Golf contributor or two roaming the property, though.  Standings and picks after the jump.

spencer – 235
lefty – 454
AC – 512
getofftheschneid – 529
Tips – 572
Penna – 707

First up, old man Penna:

This week, I’m going to take Jim Furyk again. I’m riding that ugly, snarly dude with the bad swing and hot wife until he puts me in the money. He has had a solid season, with two early wins, played pretty well last week at Greenbrier (T-9), and has perennially played well at Firestone, with six Top 10 finishes in his career. Let’s hope that on Sunday he’s standing on 18 with more than that “I’d kill you if I could” miserable puss on his face.

Next up, Frosted Tips:

I’m climbing out on the thickest limb on the tree and going with Mr. Woods this week. There are a handful of reasons why I probably shouldn’t take him: Westwood, Kuchar, Crane, Overton, McIlroy, etc. But you know what? Woods is fucking due and OWNS this event; none of those yellow-belly’d cowards wants any piece of Woods this weekend. Methinks Tiger spent the last two weeks practicing with his ol’ Scotty, then wining and dining it before coercing it into a long night of make-up sex. Wow, that really got weird. Anyway, look for Tiger to find his putting stroke and his first victory of 2010.

Now, worldwide schneid:

The WGC at Firestone is one of my favorite events because it brings some of the biggest names in golf to my home* course. Obviously Tiger is a huge draw and fan favorite given his success here but I’m going with his playing partner today, Lee Westwood. The Englishman definitely isn’t my favorite golfer but he’s been in contention at just about every big event and finished in the Top 10 here the last 2 years with a runner-up in 2008. He hasn’t missed the cut yet in 10 starts this year and I need all the help I can get after getting the dreaded 100 points last week. I most likely won’t be following him when I head to Firestone on Friday unless of course I can snag that outfit JD wore at the British on Sunday.
*home course means the closest event to my house

AC Slater:

Real tough call this week. I was thinking Dustin Johnson because of his distance or Justin Rose beacuse of his ridiculous season so far. But I settled on Steve Stricker. How can you go wrong with that short game? Last year he finished T6 and had the second most birdies of anyone in the field. It’s that time of the year for Stricker. FedEx Cup is right around the corner and he always finds a way to finish the season strong. Oh and he’s 4th in the world.

Your humble correspondent:

This week, I’m rolling with Paul Casey.  He’s having a great year, and his past performance here at Firestone is pretty solid, with 5 top 20s.  With two other top tens in WGC events so far this year, Casey has been knocking on the door, and this could be the week the door opens, and he walks through.

Senor 096:

I, Serrrrrgio, don’t have a top 10 since February?  Well, that’s about to change.  Since the WGC events don’t have a cut and I have quite the boisterous lead, why not go out on a limb and take a personal favorite?  Sure, statistically Sergio has been straight up fucking terrible, but at the same time, he’s relatively consistent.  11 cuts made in 12 PGA events…I mean, it’s not bad, right?  And hell, during British Open week Tips took Sergio and was rewarded with a halfway decent performance, so I’m looking at the glass half full and thinking this could be the rebound.  Of course I’m being overly optimistic, but whatever…