Well it’s playoff time boys and girls. Get excited. The top 125 players are here to compete for a shot at the big bucks and a cool trophy. First up is the Barclays at the Ridgewood Country Club in Paramus, NJ. Here are the picks…

Toney Penna:

This week the long-anticipated, much ballyhooed FedEx Cup playoffs begin with the Barclays Championship in B-E-A-Utiful Paramus, NJ. “WHAT EXIT?” . “IT’S NEAR THE MALL!!” My pick for this “the tension is so think you can cut it with a knife” tournament is Jim Furyk. Since I think these “playoffs” are a complete waste of time, so is my pick. He thought so much of this tournament, he decided to oversleep and miss the Pro-Am, essentially disqualifying him from the tournament. It also meant he had no chance to win the TEN FUCKING MILLION DOLLAR FIRST PLACE CHECK! This is an example of where golf has gone: a guy with the worst swing this side of Kevin Costner sleeps his way out of a $10 million check, and doesn’t even seem to give a shit. THAT’S how much money these fucks make.So, in honor of that, he is my pick for this waste of time tournament.

Tips:
I’m taking one of the rising sun’s finest, Ryuji Imada, this week. Has he played particularly well lately? No, he’s missed his last five cuts – but that’s not of concern to me. I’m not looking for my pick to play well this week. It’s playoff time and I’m so far back that it’s time to initiate full kamikaze mode in this competition. And who better to lead me through the final stages of my downfall* than a man whose ancestors perfected this routine?
Jay V:
Peter Hanson’s win at the Czech Open bumped Paul Casey out of the automatic qualification range for the Euro Ryder Cup team…a win here this week gets him back on.  I’m using that motivation angle, and taking the Brit, who was top 10 the last time this event was held at Ridgewood (2008).
Schneid:
My selection methodology this week was going to be something totally new but someone had to go and ruin it. My original decision was going to get Jeev’d on purpose after his T-18 finish last week. Instead, I got Stricker’d. I’d have a very good look at last place if it weren’t for the new (and better) additions. Thanks guys.
AC:
Dustin Johnson. Talk about a good season… Top 5 at the PGA Championship? Check. Top 15 at the British Open? Check. Top 8 at the US Open? Check. On top of that Dustin has a victory at the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro Am (repeat victory too!) and a Top 3 finish at the Northern Trust Open. Johnson is one bad break away from being a major winner. With this year’s majors in the past, Johnson has one more shot at making this season truly memorable.
Lefty:
I had a tough decision this week, deciding between Irish wunderkind Rory McIlroy and my boy Matt Kuchar.  But, seeing how college football is only a week away, I’m gonna have to roll with former Yellow Jacket Matt Kuchar.  Doesn’t hurt that he’s having the best year of his career, and is killing it in just about every statistical category.  Here’s hoping Kuchar can come through with a win, or at the very least, a strong top ten finish, to help me end up the season with a podium finish.
Spency:
I’m taking Robert Allenby because it’s the final stretch and consistency counts.  I’m not looking for a 2nd place finish (again), just looking for someone who’ll make the cut and get me a low score.  I want this thing, I can smell it…and Allenby, led by his 4th overall ranking and 18th scoring average ranking is just the guy to help carry me to the finish line.  The FedEx Cup events have typically been pretty score-able, so I’ll take the guy who’s seemingly in the top 20 every week.