This week’s tourney is the Mercedes-Benz Championship that will be played at the Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort in Maui, Hawaii. The field will not have some of the big names that shown up in the past, most notably Tiger and Phil, but it will be a competitive field headlined by Anthony Kim, Vijay Singh, and Ernie Els.  Check out our expert picks after the jump.

The Real AC says:

At par 73 and 7411 yards, I’m going to stick with a big hitter. The wide fairways and large greens are going to let some bombers have fun. My pick this week is going to be Camilo Villegas. He averages 293 yards from the tee (above average) and has a 58% driving accuracy (below average), so the wider fairways can help dude rip some big ones. It’s a pretty safe pick. Villejas ended up in second place in last years race for the FedEx Cup and finished the year winning the BMW Championship and THE TOUR Championship and finished T3 at the Deutsche Bank Championship. Plus he’s sexy; so let’s roll with it.

Spencer says:

I’m picking Adam Scott even though I wish he’d just retire and sit on his millions so we never have to see him on TV again.  He rocks at Kapalua, finishing top 10’s the last four years and has the length to somewhat mediate the ridiculous changes in elevation the Plantation Course gives you on each hole.  On the greens, if you’re not used to putting where the grain really affects the speed of the ball, you’ll struggle, but Scott is used to dealing with that and should be able to distance himself from the lesser players and those who aren’t especially used to it.  Figure that Vijay and AK will be in the hunt on Sunday, and with Vijay hurt and AK’s inexperience, I look for Adam to capitalize and start his year off typically well before fading, like he always does, once the big-boys get rolling and he can’t just coast by on natural talent.

Plus…he’ll probably want to get the boring golf out of the way ASAP so he can go surfing.

GetOffTheSchneid says:

It took me awhile to make up my mind about this pick, but I finally decided to stick with my gut. No, I am not picking KJ Choi, Phil, or JD…wrong kind of gut. Instead, I am going with what works this week. I am relying on Vijay Singh to pick me up before he goes on a surgical vacation. My best guess is that he will need to win the Benz in order to have enough money to survive the upcoming weeks without a paycheck. Okay, that may be a little bit of a stretch. Regardless, Vijay has finished in the top 10 at Kapalua 8 of the 9 times he has put on that visor. He’s definitely got the distance for the course at just under 300 (top 25) and as long as he continues his trend and high percentage of GIR’s, there should be no reason not to be within striking distance on Sunday…unless of course his knee gives out on his backswing, he stumbles, and falls into the Pacific. I’ll take my chances.

The Dude says:

I’m going to go with Daniel Chopra this week. He played really well last year and beat Steve Stricker in a playoff to win it. He did fade as the season went on, but he is pretty young and probably has a lot to bring to the table. Even thought I don’t have a lot of confidence in my pick, I think he is a pretty safe bet due to the mindset he will bring into this tourney as the reigning champ.

