Ah, TPC Scottsdale, how I miss you from TW and remember you from 1997… Anyway, this week  “Filthy” Phil Mickelson will be making his 2009 season debut. He should be considered one of the favorites as he won this event back in 1996, came in second place last year and is a graduate from Arizona State. The other player to keep your eye on is J.B. Holmes. He has won two of the the last three times playing this event. The course will play at par 71 and 7216 yards. The average temperature on the course will be a little under 74 degrees, so heat should not be a factor. That said, here are the picks:

The Real AC says:

My selection this week is Phil Mickel-hooters. Tied for second last year, he’s fresh, and he’s back in his old digs for the weekend. He will be cool as a cucumber playing in the desert. I mean come on, this isn’t a hard pick. I already told you, it’s either him or J.B. (Katie) Holmes. Let it ride.

Danfinuc says:

I’m going to go with Geoff Ogilvy. He really impressed me with his win the other week. I also like his demeanor, very easy going and determined. I think he could definitely win this event, or at the very least be in the top 5. And not to get too ahead of myself he’s will definitely have a big win this year. Best of luck to him.

Spencer says:

My pick this week is JB Holmes.  Why, JB?  Because he’s won two of the last three, the course is outrageously easy and guys who can put it out there 350 have a massive advantage.  JB is also a redneck and will no doubt feed off of the party-like atmosphere.  Yea, I could be a poofter and pick Phil or AK, but what fun is that?  I’m not picking JB ever again this year because his game is weak, but here?  Why the hell not?

Get Off The Schneid says:

I’m going to give the short-billed Villegas a go this week. I think that he is going to start getting serious now after his month-long party on the islands in Hawaii. He’s got the long ball needed for the PBR FBR and hopefully he and his putter will get along. I think it will be a tight 3 or 4-man race to Sunday and I don’t have enough faith in the 2009-virgin, Lefty. Shake and bake!

