In a recent message on his personal website, Tiger Woods has made it known to the golfing community that it’s on like Donkey Kong. Woods said:

“I’m full-bore with my practice sessions and have no restrictions. It’s just a matter of getting my golf endurance up. I don’t have my golf stamina back yet… Elin, Sam and I are very excited for the new baby to arrive, although that’s when the real lack of sleep begins. But I must admit, I am also excited about returning to competition. Early on, I didn’t miss golf because I enjoyed staying home with Elin and Sam and I knew I wasn’t physically able to play. The truth is, I would have embarrassed myself. Now, I’m getting my feel and practice back. It’s just a matter of playing more on the course. I’m working hard to get myself back into tournament shape and will return as soon as I’m ready.”

Take this as a warning to all who play on Tour. Get ready, because when TW laces them back up, he’s going to be out for blood. Tiger is one of the most competitive people around so it’s expected that he’ll take his return from knee surgery as a personal challenge as to whether he’ll be able to return to top Tiger form. So much was made out of this…the first knee of golf, how the injury was caused, what adjustments need to be made in his swing to avoid this from happening again, how this will impact his ability to play golf in the future, and so on, that everyone is chomping at the bit just to see SOMETHING.

Now, I’m not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV, but if anything can be learned from the injuries of athletes in other sports, it’s that these guys come back better and stronger. I don’t know if it’s the rest during the eight or however many months away from their sport or if it’s the rehabilitation process, but these guys just come back beast.

So, as if this is some news flash or anything, but Tiger’s probably going to come back and dominate like he always has. He won’t miss a beat. You know it’s going to happen. The usual questions about rust and regaining rhythm just don’t apply to Tiger Woods. Tiger is not normal, so the normal questions of such do not apply. Though he has not given a definitive date for his return, it’s expected to be in time for the Masters, and Woods will probably get in a tournament prior to then to shake the rust off.

Some potential tournaments to keep an eye on for a potiental Tiger spotting are: WGC CA Championship, Arnold Palmer Invitational, or the Shell Houston Open. You know he wants to make a splash in the Masters so these are the biggest purses prior that tournament thus attracting the most Tiger-friendly field. Until then, gunga, gunga-galunga.

