This week’s tournament is the Buick Invitational at the highly acclaimed Torrey Pines North Course in San Diego, CA. This is a tournament one could pretty much say was made famous by Tiger, who is not playing and is the defending champion and has won this event six times… since 1999. Last year Rory Sabbatini finished in third place, tied with Stu Cink.

How about how 3/4 of our picks missing the cut last week? We are real mean of genius. The usual big names scored well last year, notably: Leonard -5, Mickelson -T6, Villegas -T13, Singh -T23, and Daly T145, so expect much of the same this year (except Daly, of course). The purse is $5.3 million with the winner taking home a cool $954,000. That’s a pretty decent purse.

So with out any further adieu:

The Real AC says:

I am picking Retief Goosen this week. The South African is making his season debut this week at Torrey, so we’ll see if I learned my lesson from last week taking guys who are making their season debut. I’m not dropping names or anything here (Phil), just sayin’ ya coulda made me look a little better. Have some respect for yourself guy. So lets see if Retief can get his season started off on the right foot or not. I figure he still has plenty of gas left in the tank and he should be able to score relatively well, considering Charles Howell III finished T13 here last year. So I’m going with Ratief. It’s either going to be him or someone random like Ted Purdy, who I was honestly considering taking last week out of randomness. From this view, T35 is much better than missing the cut.

Spencer096 says:

I have this feeling…it’s gonna be Phil.  Let’s look real quick…grew up playing Torrey, really needs to put last week’s crapfest behind him, is the best player in the field, has the game to suit the track…I’d be a fool NOT to pick Phil.  But here we are…and I’m officially picking Phil Steve Marino.  Steve Marino?  Yea…I don’t know why I’m going with him, but I know that he has an obscene amount of talent, has played here before, and can put birdies up in bunches.  He’s going to break through big time at Torrey and make a bigger name for himself.

Danfinuc says:

Hunter Mahan for sure. I’m usually pretty flustered when it comes to my picks, but I think this guy has a supreme amount of talent that is just waiting to be unleashed. He isn’t one of the golfers that shoots a crazy low score once in a blue moon, he does it at least once a tourney. If he can create the consistency he needs to, he’ll be a force to be reckon with(though who wouldn’t right?). Anyways outside of Tiger, Hunter is pretty close to my favorite golfer on tour, and could definitely win this tourney.

Getofftheschneid says:

My pick this week is Paddy. He wins almost every tournament that he decides to play in…at least on the PGA side of things. He takes a lot of heat for not crossing the pond enough and only playing in ones he thinks he can win, aka tournys that Tiger isn’t playing in. Granted this is his first PGA entry and Lefty didn’t even make the cut in his first one, but the leprechaun isn’t Lefty…thank God. This will be the only time I ever say this, Go Irish!

