This is Webb Simpson, just so you know.

This is Webb Simpson, just so you know.

Every week we’re going to do a power rankings of the top 17 players worldwide at the moment.  Why 17?  Because it’s my party and I can cry if I want to.  Also, we’ll just be naming it after the PGA Tour stop that week, but will be including international players, so don’t worry, we’re not oblivious to to the linksy goodness across the pond.

Not a lot of movement this week, as most of the top guys weren’t at Torrey for one reason or another.  But look at a little closer at this week’s rankings…there’s a guy in there who most people consider a top golfer and one of Tiger’s chief competitors, and you won’t find him anywhere to be seen.  Suspense?  Hitchcock doesn’t have shit on me.

Rankings after the jump (last week’s ranking in parentheses):

1. Tiger Woods (1): He’s gonna be teeing it up soon…probably not at Match Play, but most likely at Bay Hill or Doral, and based on how he looks, he may, or may not, move from this spot.  But for now?  He’s still the man.

2. Sergio Garcia (2): Didn’t tee it up, so…he’s my favorite and these are my rankings, so I suggest you deal with it.

3. Kenny Perry (3): Again, didn’t play at Torrey.

4. Henrik Stenson (4): See the theme here?

5. Rory McIlroy (5): This is getting old…

6. Geoff Ogilvy (6): Another one?  COME ON!

7. Vijay Singh (7): …at least he’s playing this week.

8. Camillo Villegas (14): FINALLY.  Despite the final round miss, Villegas showed me a lot.  His game simply wasn’t there, and he only has one shot in the bag (that low stinger), but he managed to grind it out and still give himself chances.  That’s what seperates great players from the wunderkinds.  He’s making a fan out of me.

9. Paddy Harrington (8): Not a great showing at the Buick, but not terrible either.  This seems like an appropriate place for him for now, at least.

10. Zach Johnson (10): Didn’t tee it up, but hasn’t given me a reason to drop him.

11. Charley Hoffman (15): Narrow miss at the FBR follwed by a t7 at the Buick makes me think he’s going to make some noise this year.  Could he be this year’s Stewart Cink?  I’m thinking so…honestly, though, I feel he should be higher up, but I’m too lazy to fix it.

12. Webb Simpson (11): Remember, he’s a rook, and he’s been playing great this year.  A t19 at the Buick is a disappointment for a top player, but for a rookie, it’s something to build on.  We’ll be hearing from him later, I have a feeling…he doesn’t have a gorgeous swing, but then again, neither did Palmer (fellow Wake Forest alum) or Nicklaus.  Not saying he’ll be on that level, but he’s looked very impressive so far.  Now, I realize that it sounds like I’m praising him, so why did I drop him?  Because I realize I ranked him WAY too highly last week…think of this less as a demotion, and more of a reversion to the mean.

13. Davis Love III (NR): Should’ve had him here last week.  This thing is a work in progress, so cut me some slack.

14. Anthony Kim (12): Trending steeply downward and the mancrush has officially worn off.  Something is just not right and he needs to fix it ASAP before the season starts going because there’s NO reason he should’ve taken 35 putts at a C-level European Tour event at a BS course…none at all.

15. Luke Donald (NR): Some strong finishes mean he probably should be higher, but I just can’t stand his game.  Luke’s is more LPGA than PGA.

16. Robert Karlsson (NR): Since I’m running out of players, I’m putting Karlsson up here because I expect A LOT of good things from him this year.

17. Ryo Ishikawa (NR): Again, based on potential…I can’t wait to see him stateside.

Dropped off:  Phil Mickelson (9)

