dove_mountain

There’s not a lot I can tell you about Dove Mountain, I’m sorry.  It’s a Jack Nicklaus design that will play to a par of 72 at around 7,400 yards (7,800 actual yards but the elevation will shorten the course significantly).  There are a lot of elevation changes and, while the fairways are wide, finding them is a must.

I’ve heard the greens are extremely undulating and the course is playing firm and fast.  Since it’s a Nicklaus design, you can expect the typically “Jack” elements of course design that test your golfing intellect and reward the integrity of the shot…as long as that shot is a fade.  Hah…got you Jack.

But seriously, it’s definitely an upgrade over that McDesert Links(tm) golf resort that they played at in 2007 and 2008.  How do I know that?  I don’t, but you can’t get worse than the worst, so I figure it’ll just HAVE to be better.  That makes total sense to me so I’m running with it.

What I want to know is why they can’t hold this event at a great course.  As the premeir Match Play event in a series called the WORLD Golf Championships, why not move this event around the globe?  Take it to Pete Dye’s Teeth of the Dog or let the NedBank Championship at the Gary Player CC serve as a tune-up to the big WGC.  I’m sure the weather’s fine at Valderamma in Spain or why not get really creative and get a tournament held at Bandon Dunes where the Pacific Northwest weather at this time is mild?  Be creative with this thing, don’t just settle for a course that any of us can buy a weekend package to.

Whatever.

