This week kicks off the Florida Swing and there is no better way to do so than with a sexy field featuring Sergio Garcia, Camilo Villegas, Rory McIlroy, and defending Honda Classic champion Ernie Els among others. The winning share is $1,008,00 this year and will be played at the PGA National Golf Club’s Champion Course in Palm Beach Gardens, FL. The course will play at par 70 and 7158 yards. Last year Luke Donald finished in 2nd at -5 to Els at -6, and Nathan Green had a very strong Saturday and Sunday, shooting a 68 and a 67 respectfully to finish alone in 3rd at -4. Camilo Villegas has played some strong golf at this course in the past as well, so you could hear his name a lot this weekend. Keep your eye on the 19 year old sensation, Rory McIlroy. He will be making another showing in the States and is already ranked #16 in the world rankings. We are two weeks away from seeing how good McIlroy really is, but this could be a nice chance for him to make some serious noise going into Masters week. My boy Boo Weekely is making an appearance as well. His weekend ended poorly last year by posting an 80 on Sunday. Really, he shot an 80. Personally, I don’t really think the Big Easy will have the same success as last year, but we’ll see…

The Real AC says:

Mark Calcavecchia is going to have the best showing this week. If he could have only shot even par on Sunday last year, maybe we would be putting “defending champion” before his name this time around. He was -6 going into the final round and posted a +3/73 to finish T4/-3. This year we won’t see the same late tournament meltdown and ya’ll can put that in the paper; you write that. You make money off that. Naw man, I’m pissed! Spencer is winning?! He picked Phil in consecutive weeks and it paid off?! Then he followed it up by picking consecutive winners with Ogilvy last week?! Well I’m gonna come right back at him. I’m a f!@#ing soldier!

spencer096 says:

I’m really torn here…should I take Robert Allenby, a guy who has the ballstriking to get around?  Do I take my mancrush Sergio?  What about Boo Weekley, a guy who’s had success here before?  Or defending champ Els?  Do I follow my strange gut feeling and predict investment guru Joe Ogilvie gets a high finish?

Nope, I’m not taking any of ’em.  My pick for this week is Davis Love III.  I haven’t looked back at any of his previous finishes here, but my logic is sound for two reasons.  One, despite his age, he’s still a premier ballstriker who’s comfortable with this style of course, but the biggest reason?  When he missed the Masters last year, he was crushed, and he’s said his goal is to get back by any means necessary.  After his brutal (golf relative) ankle injury, Davis took it upon himself to make it back, climbing up from a WGR in the 100’s, playing the qualifying rounds for the US Open and entering fall series events that resulted in his 20th win and subsequent PGA lifetime exempt status.  He’s motivated, he’s good, he’s healthy, and a win wouldn’t shock me.

And what does it matter anyways?  I’m playing with house money after the last two weeks.

Danfinuc says:

I’m going to go with Sergio this week. I think he has a lot to prove this week after losing in the matchplay. He’s obviously a strong ballstriker, and has the ability to shoot low. After his poor showing, which absolutely screwed up my bracket royally, he better win this week, or else…I’m going to cry on the inside. Either way, he’s going to be competing in this tournament for sure this week.

Get Off The Schneid says:

Like AC, nothing pains me more than seeing Spencer get lucky after blindly throwing darts at the tournament field the past few weeks. Unlike Spencer, my decision this week isn’t based on blind, dumb luck.

Okay. Heads is my favorite short-billed hat Colombian, Villegas. Tails will be the other Aussie, Allenby, who has played well at this event the past 4 out of 5 years. Jerome Bettis, call it in the air. “Tails.” Heads is the call. He said heads. It is tails. “I called tails.” No you didn’t. Tails it is and my pick is Allenby. He’s got the goods, is playing 10 minutes away from his home and needs this win. Scratch that…I need this win.

