Levy/PGA TOUR

Levy/PGA TOUR

The 12th stop on the PGA TOUR train brings us to Doral Golf Resort & Spa for the WGC-CA Championship in Doral, FL. Since the economy sucks, the chance to take home $1,400,000 ($8,500,000 total purse) on a giant check is hard to pass up for the PGA elite. The 80-player field is the largest in CA Championship history and it also includes 17 event virgins (and that’s just for the hospitality tent).
Everyone already knows that Tiger is making his 2nd start of the year and will be heavily favored by all of the “experts” along with the defending champ, Olgilvy. The top 10 golfers in the FedEx Cup, PGA TOUR money, and WGR are all represented this weekend. I’m not going to waste your time telling you who to watch for this weekend because we will be here forever. You know who is playing. You know it’s going to be fun to watch. You know Tiger is going to get all of the attention even if he misses the cut. By the way, Tiger has never finished lower than 9th in the 18 WGC events he has played. Oh, and 12 were wins. Maybe you should watch him.
There’s a slim chance Sergio could take over the #1 spot in the WGR if he wins and Tiger sucks (27th or worse). Good luck with that, Spaniard. You’ve always done really well when there is a lot of pressure on you and your putter.
With the loaded field, it shouldn’t be that hard to make a pick that will do well this weekend. That being said, I am sure that 1 or 2 of these picks will blow it. Here goes nothing…
Get Off the Schneid says:
The “experts” are falling over themselves to take Tiger this weekend. I’m no expert yet but I do know that he loves this course. He loves the WGC. I love Tiger. He is Tiger. It’s a perfect fit for me. I’ve got to start making up some points on Spencer and this is a good time to start. Enough said.
spencer096 says:
I’m going with Anthony Kim this week.  I waffled a lot on this pick…obviously my two favorites are Geoff Ogilvy and Tiger Woods, but for some reason, thought those would be too obvious.  I think AK has been out of the limelight so much this season that it’s easy to overlook the fact that his game is tailor made for a course like the Blue Monster.  He’s got the length to keep up and the gumption to deal with the heavies that’ll most likely be near the top of the leaderboard come Sunday.  But I swear…if AK poos in the hamper, he’s dead to me.
TheRealAC says:
You know who I’m taking this week? Ken Duke. Why? Well, I am going to answer that question with a question, why not? He’s been cut 4 straight times after finishing T42 at the Bob Hope. The logic here is simple. Dude (only one letter away from Duke!) is due. Why else? Because I live in a building named “The Duke”.  What of it?
