The next stop on Tour is Redstone Golf Club Tournament Course for the Shell Houston Open. There is a great field present this week for a pre-Masters tuneup. There are some pretty nice pairings scheduled for Thursday. Vijay Singh, Henrik Stenson, and Sergio Garcia are together, as well as Anthony Kim, Ernie Els, and Hunter Mahan. Some other notable players are Phil Mickelson, Greg Norman, Justin Leonard, K. J. Choi, and Padraig Harringon. Last year Johnson Wagner won this event and this year’s winner will take home $1.008 million of a $5.6 million purse. Wagner finished 2 shots  in front of Geoff Ogilvy to finish the tournament -16. Fred Couples finished T4/-13, Pat Perez finished T8/-10, and K. J. Choi finished T11/-9 among other notable finishes. The course will play at a par 72 and 7457 yards so look for the big hitters to have the advantage. I wouldn’t be too surprised to see Ovilgy finish close to the top of the leaderboard again this year. He has 2 victories already this year and hasn’t finished outside of the top 32 yet this year. Davis Love III has to take home the victory this week to qualify for the Masters next week, good luck. Last year DL3 finished T26/-5. And the picks…

The Real AC says:

I’m rolling the dice on recently un-retired pro golfer and recently retired pro surfer, Adam Scott. Honestly, I’m basing this entire pick on the fact that he won this event in 2007 and quite frankly he’s due. I think it’s a pretty risky pick based on how he has fared so far this year, but I’m going to let it play. Scott has the length to keep up with the best the field can throw at him and he has the shots in the bag. It’s just a matter of putting it all together for a full tournament. I know he missed the cut at the Transitions Championship, but he did finish T2 earlier at the Sony.  Just make me look good Adam.

Spencer096 says:

This week, I’m taking Hernik Stenson.  In a stacked field, Stenson tends to fly under the radar, which is ridiculous considering he’s one of the best golfers on the planet.  He’s long and accurate, can handle lengthy courses and can putt extremely well and isn’t afraid to have a lead heading into Sunday.  While I ALMOST took Rory, I just don’t see him winning in America yet…soon, but not yet.  So for now, I’m going with Henrik.  But really, I can almost guarantee it’ll be someone we’ve never heard of as the top guys don’t want to go balls out trying to win the Shell when the Masters is next week.

Danfinuc says:

I am going to go with Geoff Ogilvy this week. He started off the season very strong with his two wins. He was a runner up Shell Houston Open last year, so we all know he can pull off a good finish on this course. With such a great effortless swing, it’s always fun to watch Geoff play. I’m just hoping he along with everyone else can focus on the course this week, instead of thinking ahead to next week at Augusta National.

Getofftheschneid says:

I was all set to pick DL3 this week because he needs this win more than anyone. I figured he would be able to sack up and go bird hunting for a win so he could play in the Masters. Then I remembered that he is DL3. Before you skip to the bottom and comment on how he has done it before when he needs it, the odds of him fending off a pretty stacked field who all want a tune-up for Amen Corner are not good. Not good at all. With that, I’m going with the Bull this week. This is Sergio’s first crack at the SHO and has yet to crack the top 10 in ’09. I know that is not exactly a ringing endorsement for a guy but he’s good enough and experienced enough to focus this week and get his shit together for the green jacket. Plus, I need him to win next week so that I can get a free driver. He may need Chubbs to take him to the putt-putt course in order to win it, though.

