Well, folks, it’s once again time for that weekly tradition you all know and love, the Fantasy Foursome [counts number of writers making picks] [doesn’t give a shit] .  This week, we’re in San Antonio for the Valero Texas Open, which carries a $6.1 million purse, of which the winner gets $1,098,000.  The event moves to a new venue this year, the AT&T Oaks Course, a Greg Norman design that had some input from an adviser you’ll hear more about in a moment.  Onto the picks after the jump.

From The Tips has the honors:

I really wanted to go with The Big Easy this week as he’s been playing surprisingly well this year. I’ve always been a quiet fan of him and his remarkably smooth swing for such an enormous guy (no homo). Then there’s the added karma of the World Cup being played this year in his racist homeland. But… I’m going with, the popular sleeper pick, Bo Van Pelt. His driving accuracy and GIR percentage rankings are enough for me to throw my dollar down on him winning this thing. Besides, his name is appropriate for the environment of this week’s tourney.

Next up, TheRealAC:

I’m rolling the dice on two time Valero Texas Open Champion, Zach Johnson. ZJ had a good showing last week at Daaaaa Players finishing T22. I’m probably putting too much stock in the fact that he’s won this tournament twice, but you know what? That’s my pick and I’m sticking with it. His two victories at this tournament came on a different course, the Resort Course at La Cantera Golf Club in San Antonio. This year the tournament will be played on the Oaks Course at TPC San Antonio,  which opened in February 2010. He’s played in 11 events so far this year, made the cut ten times and finished in the top 25 five times. He’s a wizard with the irons and is accurate as hell. A top 10 finish is definitely not out of the question here, but keep your Jesus fish handy just in case.

Now on the tee, spencer096:

[No explanation given; what follows is a direct quote] I’m taking Sergio like Cal Ripken takes cock.

Fourth up, getofftheschneid:

After battling it out with From The Tips as to who got to take Bo Van Pelt, getofftheschneid landed on Justin Leonard.  I can only assume this is because Leonard is from Texas, and has a good track record at this event.

Now for my pick.  I’m going with Adam Scott.  Why Adam Scott?  Is it because the course is playing over 7,600 yards this week and he hits it an Aussie mile?  Is it because he has an awesome first name?  Is it because he has a swing so sweet that it’ll give you diabetes?  The answer to all three is, yes, partially.  The real reason I’m taking Scott?  The leader in the expert pick ’em on PGATour.com is taking him, and that’s good enough for me.

