I’m not going to pretend that I pay close attention to the European Tour. In fact, the only time I really watch it is when I stumble on the golf channel at random times during the day/night. There’s really no bias on my part. I enjoy their links-style courses, tall grass and consistently shitty weather, but I just don’t have the time. Whatever the case, Tuna Golf will cover the Euro Tour from time to time, especially when one of their tournaments has a stronger field than the scheduled PGA event (like this week).

Because my favorite part of any golf tournament is the course, we’ll tackle that portion of the preview first. This week’s event is at the BEAUTIFUL Wentworth Country Club.  Wentworth consists of three 18-hole courses: the West (most famous and the host of this week’s event), the East and the Edinburgh – and as a result,  is the only club in the world to host three professional events each year.  The West Course, which was recently renovated, is a 7,300 yard par 71. Coincidentally, 7,300 yards plays perfect for me, though I’m yet to get an invite for some reason. I guess they figured I’m higher class than previous tournament champs Player, Arnie, Jack, Seve, Irwin and Pavin (ok, maybe not Corey, he’s gold).

The BMW PGA Championship is the Euro Tour’s flagship event and while that’s not exactly been enough reason to always form a strong field, this year’s field is full of solid sticks (no homo).  A group of the World’s top players have entered this year’s event, including Lee Westwood (choke!), Rory McIlroy, Padric Harington, Ernie Els, Ian Poulter and defending champ Paul Casey. I think we all know what to expect from Westwood, Els has been playing well this year, Poulter and Casey could experience success on familiar ground, and McIlroy has a perfect chance to stamp “legit” on this young, uber-hyped resume.  But more likely, some random Euro-trash dude who you’ve never heard of will steal the spotlight on Sunday.

So if you’ve got nothing to do in the wee hours of the morning this weekend, stop by the Golf Channel and catch a few live rounds being played on a course that used to make Nazi prisoners perform grounds maintenance during WWII.

