Today I’m going to take a look at everybody’s (least?) favorite club, the putter.  Without a doubt, this is the one club in your bag that causes the most consternation, is subject to the most experimentation/tinkering, and is most likely to be slammed against your bag or tossed in the lake.

Putters are kind of like shoes.  Everybody has a different opinion on which brand/style/type is best, depending on how each one suits their individual aesthetic preferences, as well as functionality.  Personally, I’m a pretty simple guy when it comes to putters.  No belly putters, long putters, or even Ping-style offsets (and perish even the thought of some of the newfangled monstrosities Ping and Odyssey are rolling out these days.  It’s like they’re competing to see who can make the ugliest hunk of metal on a stick.)  I own two putters, this guy, and this little guy (middle).  Both extremely functional, and pleasing to the eye.

I’ve found that the less I tinker, the better off I am.  You see this reflected in some pros (Tiger’s used the same Scotty Cameron seemingly since birth), but they’re prone to the tinker bug as well.  Vijay Singh, Fred Couples, and even Me, Sergio (Yes? No?) have all switched putters (and putting styles) more times than I can count.  Sometimes it works, often times it doesn’t.

I guess the lesson here is to find something you’re comfortable with, something that looks nice in your bag, and stick with it.  Also, it probably wouldn’t hurt you to devote some of your practice time to rolling a few putts on the practice green.  It’s a far better use of your time than spinning your wedge shots or hitting monster cuts for no reason.  Actually, who am I kidding?  Fuck putting.  Watch me cut this bitch 30 yards. [spits]

