Wow does this field suck.  I don’t mean to be a dick, but do you know how I know a field sucks?  When Kevin Streelman is leading.  Oh, and yes this thing is running late because I and my fellow TG authors are idiots.  See, we usually exchange a bunch of emails with our picks in there, and, like every other week, we had em all ready to go only…yea, nobody stepped up and wrote the post.

It happens.  It’s the fuckin’ Wyndham.  Fuck it…there’s more important shit to worry about like the Ryder Cup and making sure the PGA never returns to Whistling Straits again to write up a picks post for a tournament where the highest ranked player is a busted up Anthony Kim (and the only other top 30 player is the eminently boring Carl Pettersson).  But better late then never, right?

Anyways…I have a big ass lead thanks to my man Bubba.  Sure, Lefty is still hanging around, but lets face it, Southerners usually give up and quit, so it’s only a matter of time until he gives up and the lead is safely in this capable, tenacious Ohesian’s hands for good.  Lets get to the standings and then to the picks.

  1. Wire-to-wire096 – 259
  2. Lefty – 479
  3. AC – 629
  4. Schneider – 647
  5. Tips – 678
  6. JayV – 731
  7. no balatas – 813

JayV:

The Wyndham will always be the Greater Greensboro Open to me.  It was the site of the very first PGA event I ever attended, although to be fair I went on the day of the Pro-Am, not the tourney itself.  My Dad was a big Lee Trevino fan back in the day, and early in his coaching career, he had also forged a friendship with then NC State basketball coach Norm Sloan. This led my 5-year old self to be kinda obsessed with Pack basketball.  Anyway, Coach Sloan invites my Dad up to watch the Pro-Am, which he was playing in with Lee Trevino and members of the 1974 National Championship team, Monte Towe and Tom Burleson (no David Thompson, he was probably off doing blow).  What an experience that was, one that seems as clear to me now as the day it happened.  So, in light of that, how could I not pick a Pack alum this week…there are three to choose from…Matt Hill…hmmm, no….Garth Mulroy…who?….or Carl Petterson, winner of this event in 2008.  Yeah, I’ll take the ugly Swede.

Tips:

I’m taking part owner of Scratch Golf, Ryan Moore, this week. Not only can Moore be a birdie machine at times, he plays the unicorn of golf clubs. Moore has also won at Sedgefield and his 2010 season (4 top 10s) isn’t something to frown about. Did I mention he plays a golf club only found at the far end of a rainbow? For $3,000 (enough for my set and yours) I’ll show you the way.

Geez:

My pick for this week is one of spencer’s favorites: Fred Couples. I really have no idea why I’m picking him, other than he’s played well on the Champions Tour this year. Also, I don’t like any of the other “top players” in the field, like last year’s winner Ryan Moore (that lid makes be think he’s either one of Castro’s followers, or a house painter…not a good look). Anyway, enjoy the show, although it might be hard to match the drama from last week.

AC:

My pick for the week is Brandt Snedeker. Why? I really don’t know. Mostly because he played pretty well in this tourney last year. Plus this field sucks so bad I might as well throw a dart and see who I get. Snedeker has had a few decent showings this year making the cut in 15 of 22 events played, including seven top 25 finishes. His best finish came at the Farmers Insurance Open where he finished T2. Snedeker is 86th in the OWGR and 45th in the FedEx Cup Standings. Nothing like a good showing at the Wyndham to help kick start a strong finish to 2010.

Schneider:

I’m going with the AK belt buckle this week. Yes, I know…he’s fresh off of injury but he needs this event to earn a spot on the Ryder Cup to crush some Euros. That’s reason enough for me.

Lefty:

Well, since this field is so deep, and every guy I considered picking is still available, I’m had a tough time deciding this week.  Ultimately, I decided to go with one of the most consistent players this year, J.J. Henry.  This has been a good season for Henry, as he’s in the top 16 in total driving, ball striking, and total birdies.  After a second place finish at Turning Stone, I’m taking Henry just so I can hopefully avoid a disaster and get on to next week.  Well, that, and everybody I wanted to take was gone.

Moi:

I’m going against logic and picking an Australian.  This week, I’m going with Adam Scott 2.0, Michael Sim, the precocious, prodigious Aussie with the tee to green game gifted by the gods who hasn’t yet figured out that Australians aren’t allowed to putt well as evidenced by his 21st ranking in putting.   A recent Nationwide Tour grad with three Nationwide wins under his belt, the 21 year old has four top 25’s in his 16 PGA events, and since the field is a steaming pile of pony loaf this week, I’ll take talent over some journeyman poofter.

